I Try To Get Out Of My Funk


I haven’t been writing much lately. The debt ceiling debate, if you can call it that, has really gotten me down. There seems to be no common sense talk going on. Anyway, in spite of that, I’m pushing myself to write something. So I have a question to pose that I would enjoy any thoughts you may have.

You may have heard that the other day Rupert Murdoch and his son James appeared before a Parliament committee. This was all because of the phone-hacking scandal that caused the demise of “The News of the World,” a Murdoch owned paper. There was a lot of commentary. All the cable news networks carried coverage of the hearings. Rupert Murdoch called it the “most humble day of my life.”

So in the middle of this hearing a self-proclaimed comedian, called Jonnie Marbles, tried to throw a pie in Murdoch’s face. He missed, getting the pie on

Photo courtesy ABC News

Murdoch’s jacket. At that point Murdoch’s wife, forty years his junior, leapt up and smacked the guy in the head.  The best parts of this picture are the looks on the faces of the MPs, which range from disgust to befuddled to amused.

I’ve written all this for one real purpose and that is to ask a question. I’ve never been to a Congressional hearing, but I don’t think this could happen in the US. I think security would prevent it. What I’m asking is:

How did this guy get a pie into Parliament?

6 responses to “I Try To Get Out Of My Funk

  1. I suppose you would sneak the pie tin in under your blazer and have a can of whipped cream in your pocket. Then try to “make” the “pie” discreetly under your chair.

    Either that or coordinate in advance with a sympathetic staffer…

    • Thanks for the comment. That is a least a plausible idea. I couldn’t come up with anything. Its the most ridiculous thing I’ve heard recently. Parliament is a lot more exciting than our Congress though. I sometimes watch the House of Commons on C-Span just to watch them yell at each other.

  2. Murdock’s Eulogy by Peter Shakespeare Baxter

    Friends, Readers, countrymen, lend me your ears;
    I come to bury Murdock, not to praise him.
    The evil that men do lives after them;
    The good is oft interred with their bones;
    So let it be with Murdock.
    The noble Orwell hath told you Murdock was ambitious:
    If it were so, it was a grievous fault,
    And grievously hath Murdock answered it.
    Here, under leave of Orwell and the rest –
    For Orwell was an honourable man;
    So are were all, all honourable men –
    Come I to speak at Murdock’s inquest.
    O judgment! thou art fled to brutish beasts,
    For all men have lost their reason. Bear with me;
    For my heart is in the custard pie there with Murdock,
    And I must pause till it come back to me.
    A once noble profession graced by the likes
    Of Orwell and Greene as today become the
    Possession of a custard pie.
    A pie cooked in Murdock’s bakery.

    PS that is George Orwell or Eric Blair and Henry Graham Greene for the benefit of journalists everywhere.

  3. Thanks for the comment. That’s fantastic

  4. I’m inclined to think he brought the plate in under his jacket and the bottle of whipped cream and then made the pie at the last second.

    • That seems to be the most plausible scenario. If you watch the video though he’s just wearing a t-shirt and jeans at the time. Also do they not search people even slightly? Anyway, thanks for the comment. As an aside, I thoroughly enjoyed what I read from your blog.

Leave a Reply

